Contact Your City Councilors

 

Don't know where your Councilors stand? Look them up on our SCORECARD.

 

Tell them to Say NO to Boston 2024 and YES to Boston

 

________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________

 

Dear [Councilor],

 

 

As a resident of Boston, I have been very troubled by the behavior of Marty Walsh and Boston 2024. The bid was developed without any open community meetings, and it took the threat of a subpoena for Boston 2024 to release an unredacted version of Bid 1.o to the public. The meetings that Mayor Walsh and Boston 2024 have finally begun to host have consistently proven themselves not to be a good faith effort at engaging the community. Residents are left with more questions than answers, as Walsh and Boston 2024 dismiss valid concerns or defer answers to the indefinite future with phrases like “proof of concept phase.” It is simply unacceptable for a private, unelected group like Boston 2024 to have such an impact on the policymaking and planning of the city and the state, and it sets a dangerous precedent.

 

[How the Olympics would affect your neighborhood in particular]

 

The history of the Olympics is filled with cost overruns, unfulfilled promises, displacement of low-income communities, privatization of public spaces, and militarized policing. Hosting the Olympics would divert time and resources away from addressing the issues that face Boston: from an affordable housing crisis to underfunded schools to vulnerability to climate change.

 

I thus urge you to say YES to the future of Boston by saying NO to Boston 2024.

 

Sincerely,

[Name]

 

**********************************************************

 

Find Your City Councilors

 

 

District 1: Charlestown, East Boston, North End

Salvatore LaMattina: Salvatore.LaMattina@boston.gov

 

 

District 2: Downtown, South Boston, South End

Bill Linehan: Bill.Linehan@boston.gov

 

 

District 3: Dorchester

Frank Baker: Frank.Baker@boston.gov

 

 

District 4: Mattapan

Charles Yancey: Charles.Yancey@boston.gov

 

 

District 5: Hyde Park, Roslindale

Timothy McCarthy: Timothy.McCarthy@boston.gov

 

 

District 6: Jamaica Plain, West Roxbury

Matt O’Malley: Matthew.OMalley@boston.gov

 

 

District 7: Roxbury

Tito Jackson: Tito.Jackson@boston.gov

 

 

District 8: Back Bay, Beacon Hill, Fenway-Kenmore, Mission Hill, West End

Josh Zakim: Josh.Zakim@boston.gov

 

 

District 9: Allston, Brighton

Mark Ciommo: Mark.Ciommo@boston.gov

 

 

 

City Councilors At Large:

 

 

Michael Flaherty: Michael.Flaherty@boston.gov

 

Stephen Murphy: Stephen.Murphy@boston.gov

 

Ayanna Pressley: Ayanna.Pressley@boston.gov

 

Michelle Wu: Michelle.Wu@boston.gov